COUP 53

“Both as a detective story and as a deep dive into a world event whose consequences linger, it is bracing, absorbing filmmaking”- New York Times

Buy a ticket by Wednesday, 1/20 to join ERROL MORRIS in conversation with filmmakers WALTER MURCH & Taghi Amirani, Thursday, 1/21 at (4pm GMT, 11am EST, 8am PST)!

Ten years in the making, COUP 53 tells the story of the 1953 the Anglo-American coup d’état that overthrew Iran’s government of Prime Minister Mohammad Mossadegh and reinstalled the Shah. The CIA/MI6 covert action was called Operation Ajax. It was all about Iran’s oil and who gets to control and benefit from it. BP was at the heart of this story. Shot in seven countries, featuring participants and first-hand witnesses, and unearthing never seen before archive material, COUP 53 is a politically explosive and cinematically innovative documentary that lifts the lid on secrets buried for over sixty-six years.

Directed by Taghi Amirani. Written by Taghi Amirani & Walter Murch. Produced by Paul Zaentz. Co-Produced by Amir Amirani & Ahmad Kiarostami. Featuring Ralph Fiennes.  2019. UK/Iran/US. In English, Persian, Italian, French with English subtitles. 119 mins.


Price: $12.00
Rental Period: Once purchased, you’ll have 24 hours to start watching. Once started, you’ll have 72 hours to finish watching.